Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools

At the beginning of this semester, I was driving back to Greensboro from Asheville. I searched for an ed podcast to distract me from the length of the drive. I chose an episode of the Cult of Pedagogy podcast called “Are We Meeting the Needs of Our Black Girls?”. The podcast featured an interview between Cult of Pedagogy’s Jennifer Gonzalez and Monique Morris, author of the book Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools. Click HERE to access Jennifer’s blog post, which contains the podcast episode.

pushout_final

The interview opened my eyes to the many ways our schools are failing girls of color. I knew I had to get my hands on a copy of Pushout. The UNCG library didn’t have it, so I requested it from NC State. When it finally came in, I devoured it.

I believe that every educator can benefit from the thought-provocation this book brings, ESPECIALLY educators like me that aren’t people of color. We cannot sit back, cloaked in our privilege, and continue perpetuating injustice. This book is a wake-up call to action.

I went through each chapter, made notes on some of the key points, and recorded audio clips of me talking about them. I compiled these clips into a “podcast” of my own, and posted it on my Soundcloud account.

You can listen to the whole thing HERE (it’s about 30 minutes).

If you want to listen to each clip individually, you can do that HERE.

If this interests you, I highly encourage you to borrow the book and give it a read. It’s fabulously written, will stick with you forever, and will help you become a change agent in a system that is rendering our girls of color invisible.

Happy holidays,

Summer

 

 

Leave a Reply

